Skip to main content

imarkRoy J. CarverUniversity of Illinois
Biotechnology Center

Protein Sciences
Peter Yau, Ph.D - Director
315 Noyes Laboratory,
505 South Mathews Avenue, Urbana, IL 61801
Phone: (217) 333-3841 

Protein Sciences Facility Pricing

Facility users other than State of Illinois institutions are subject to a 28.6% indirect cost rate for federally funded projects . State of Illinois non-Federally funded projects are subject to a 21.9% indirect cost rate.  For off-campus projects exceeding $5000, a contract must be negotiated through University of Illinois Grants and Contracts.  For further information contact Dr. Mark A. Mikel (217-244-0144; ), Associate Director of the Roy J. Carver Biotechnology Center.

Preparative Liquid Chromatography

Purification (RP, maximum of 100 mg (C18/25mm.dia.column


Analytical HPLC (100mm x 4.6mm)



     Buffer Preparation

     Fraction Collection




Self Service


Biacore (prior training required)

$50.00/hour days

$45.00/hour nights & weekends

Typhoon 9400 Imaging (half hour minimum)

$99.00/half hour

Intact Mass Analysis with Advion TriVersa and Fusion
(2 hour minimum, prior training required)


Enzymatic Digestion


Trypsin (default unless otherwise noted)






Other Proteases (chymotrypsin, thermolysin, etc.)

cost of enzyme + $50.00

Additional Proteomic Sample Preparation

Reduction & Alkylation


Sample Cleanup (Perfect-FOCUS or StageTip)


Detergent Removal


C18 Column


Mass Spectrometry


LC-MS/MS Analysis (60 min gradient)


Quantitative Proteomic Analysis


    Isotopic label (iTRAQ, TMT, dimethyl labeling, etc.)

inquire for quote

Lyophilization (up to 200 mL/sample)


Consultation & Additional Data Analysis


All work performed by the Roy J. Carver Biotechnology Center (CBC) should be acknowledged in scholarly publications, posters, and presentations. Proper recognition allows us to measure the impact of our work and supports our initiatives in obtaining sponsored funding. In addition, any CBC personnel who make a substantial intellectual or experimental contribution are deserving of further recognition as co-author.